Keep On Painting


So it has, and will continue to be, extremely hectic in the studio with several paintings in the works.  I’m nearly done with first of several large pieces I have begun working on, there’s just a bit more to be done on the wing and few small detail touch ups.  I’m doing several more pieces at the same size of 42”x78”, or at least with the same height.  The current one on the easel is a male who has tattoos on his arms, and has two horse heads, and one horse hoof in place of a hand.  I’m continuing with the tiled floors, and listing the names of the tattoo artists who are represented.  The next on deck will be a three headed male with the lower body of either a dog or dragon.  I have many sketches to do, and a lot of work ahead of me.

The show is ever evolving and changing, as I continue to sketch more pieces, as well as refine my ideas for the opening.  I will have to cut out some ideas, but others have come and solidified; I don’t want it to just be an opening but an event.  I plan to have hand made animal masks available at the opening, a project I will start in the coming week.  I want people to come dressed to the nines or in costume.  It will certainly be epic in comparison to my other shows, and can’t wait to see the pieces all together.   SAVE THE DATE: this solo show opens September 14, 2012 at FM*Gallery and everyone is invited.

On top of my solo show work, I have been preparing a piece for the show “Taboo” in NYC at Last Rites Gallery, which is nearly complete.  At first the piece was going to be very sexual; I have a great sketch for it.  However as I was thinking and looking at it, I realized it could be perceived as extremely aggressive in a way that I didn’t like.  Of course I could just change the imagery around, but the more I thought about the actual painting it didn’t seem “just right” to me.  I imagined there would be a lot of pieces about sex in the show by other artists, so I decided to change the approach of the piece.

I’ve read a lot of Celtic mythology, and one of the key components of the hero is Geasa (an obligation or prohibition magically imposed on a person).  With a Geas there are certain taboos to which the hero must adhere or it can lead to dishonor or death.  This painting is a confrontation of the taboos that were ignored for too long, and the heroine finally taking control.

 
 
taboo |təˈbo͞o, ta-|
noun ( pl. taboos )
a social or religious custom prohibiting or forbidding discussion of a particular practice or forbidding association with a particular person, place, or thing.
 
• a practice that is prohibited or restricted in this way: speaking about sex is a taboo in his country.
 
adjective
prohibited or restricted by social custom: sex was a taboo subject.
• designated as sacred and prohibited: the burial ground was seen as a taboo place.
 
 
geas |geSH|
noun ( pl. geasa |ˈgeSHə| )
(in Irish folklore) an obligation or prohibition magically imposed on a person.
Leave a Reply

